top of page

Even Seniors have lots to learn.

LUKE SCHWAB

CONTRIBUTING WRITER

The start of my senior year was the roughest beginning of any year I have ever had in my four years of high school. Last quarter proved to be harder than freshman, sophomore, and junior year combined.

For my senior year I had big intentions, but I always tend to bite off a little more than I can chew. That's not to say that I cannot handle what I am doing right now, but it is going to take a lot more work than previously thought.

I always say that I lack free time, but last quarter I really had none. This is all because I thought I was done. I am a senior, I don't need to learn anything. Cruise until the end of school and boom, an easy graduation. This might work for some, but not for me. My ambitions are too great to put on the line to “chill” this quarter.

Sadly I did not realize this until the end of the quarter. I forgot there is more to do, more to achieve, and more to be remembered by this year. Although it is my last year, I should be working harder than I have previously. Instead of complaining about how tough my schedule is, I need to take action and swallow what I chose to bite off.

I learned a lot about myself this quarter. I realized it is possible for me to pull all-nighters, and achieve decent grades with somewhat slacking off, but it is also the worst thing I can ever do. I learned I am smart, but not as smart as I think. Just like any other person I need to get help if I need it, and actually study (contrary to what my previous years taught me). If I want to get the best out of whatever I am doing, full effort should be applied from when I start.

Now that I am closer to the finish than ever, it would be so easy to relax. However, I cannot, and should not think about the end. So far, this year has taught me that I still have much to learn. I need to stay in the moment, be humble, and continue to work. The fire that was once inside me has now been reduced to mere embers, but from those embers another fire can be reignited.

This is my year, I still have lots to do, lots to achieve, and lots to learn. I will regain what I lost last quarter and strive to create excellence until I reach the finish line.

Recent Posts

See All

Language Arts Fiction Contest Winner

One Last Meal Amy Giang (11) Quietly, like a shadow, I watch this drama unfold scene by scene. More accurately, like a ghost due to my current situation. “What do you mean we ran out of meat!” That wo

Grade 12 Board of Water Supply Poems

It's only that simple Chaysen Agcaoili (12) Gallons of water are wasted away as people go about their regular day. The faucet and bathtub leak water and soap suds But we choose to do as we may. Now yo

Crosswalk and graduation shuttle

NA HOKU NEWS City to eliminate Ala Napunani Street crosswalk It’s time to for the Ala Napunani Street crosswalk right outside the school fence to officially hit the road. Some time this week, the city

bottom of page