top of page

Amanda Ibanez wins the Humane Society poetry contest

Ibanez

Freshman Amanda Raphaella Ibanez speaks for the animals. She is this year’s winner of the Hawaiian Humane Society’s annual “Mission PAWsible” poetry contest. Her poem “Why?” was inspired by the idea of what a neglected dog would say to its owner. Ibanez will receive her prize at an on-campus ceremony May 13. She is a student in Stephanie McLaughlin’s Language Arts class.






Why?

Amanda Raphaella Ibanez

Grade 9


Why isn’t it fair?

Why don’t you care?

The bond we had when I was young

Seems to have been forgotten

Why?

Why have you left me outside?

Why have you stopped giving me attention?

Why am I being treated like this?

Why have you stopped loving me?

Why?

I miss the times

The times you walked me

The times you played with me

The time I wasn’t tied up

Why?

Why can’t you see?

Why can’t you tell?

I’m not happy

I will never be, as long as I am neglected

Why?

The chain that weighs me down

It’s about as low as my frown

You used to treat me as if I wore a crown

Now I know, I’m merely a clown

Why?

Why can’t I be brought inside?

Why can’t I have a meal?

Why can’t I get the attention I need?

Why is it you don’t want me anymore?

Why?

Why can’t I breathe?

Why can’t I walk?

Why can’t you see me?

Why won’t you help me?

Why?

Recent Posts

See All

Language Arts Fiction Contest Winner

One Last Meal Amy Giang (11) Quietly, like a shadow, I watch this drama unfold scene by scene. More accurately, like a ghost due to my current situation. “What do you mean we ran out of meat!” That wo

Grade 12 Board of Water Supply Poems

It's only that simple Chaysen Agcaoili (12) Gallons of water are wasted away as people go about their regular day. The faucet and bathtub leak water and soap suds But we choose to do as we may. Now yo

Crosswalk and graduation shuttle

NA HOKU NEWS City to eliminate Ala Napunani Street crosswalk It’s time to for the Ala Napunani Street crosswalk right outside the school fence to officially hit the road. Some time this week, the city

bottom of page