top of page

Fashion Boutiques in Oahu

HAILEY MEDLOCK

STAFF WRITER



Supporting local businesses is nothing new to us, every weekend there is a flea market where local vendors sell food and homemade products. As a supporter of local businesses, I prefer to not only eat at family owned restaurants but also shop at stores that are owned by residents of Hawaii. One thing that is not widely known about Hawaii is the abundance of artists, musicians and cooks that fuel Hawaii’s economy. Due to this immense amount of ideas and products being produced in Oahu, I find it fit to shop at locally owned boutiques. With Christmas around the corner we can ditch stores that sell fast fashion and revert to supporting local businesses.

One boutique in the South Shore Marketplace (1170 Auahi St, Honolulu, HI 96814)sells more than just clothes but artists products, Mori Hawaii has always been my favorite store since middle school. I have always loved walking in and perusing their record collection or looking at the different brands they sell. Mori Hawaii also displays art made by various artists in Hawaii, these pieces are usually available for purchase, one artist they displayed in 2017 was Mr. Nelson Ishida a art teacher at Moanalua High school. When shopping for gifts for my friends, I like to shop on the online boutique aboutthegoods.co, owned by two locals. I found out about this brand through my friend and instantly was intrigued by the t-shirt designs and cute items they sell. About the Goods is reasonably priced and has locally designed clothes.

Another local boutique I shop at is the website Kirahawaii.com. Kira Hawaii mostly caters to more feminine looks like frilly flower dresses, dainty jewelry and chic rompers, I often find myself begging my mom to fund my shopping habit after filling the cart at this boutique. Last but not least another boutique I discovered this store when walking around Chinatown,

Vaila Honolulu (1140 Bethel St. Honolulu HI 96813), that provides minimal looks that are also very feminine. Overall Oahu has a plethora of locally owned boutiques that are the cities hidden shopping gems.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page